The Rainy Day Killer by Michael J. McCann (Blog Tour & $25 Giveaway)

Tribute Books provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.  

Detective Karen Stainer has experienced her fair share of homicide investigations, but this case has her playing a front and center role as a potential victim.  Her fiancee is FBI and her co-workers are experienced veterans of the homicide unit, but protecting her from the Rainy Day Killer is proving to be a challenge; especially since she is dead set on protecting herself, even at her own wedding!  Lieutenant Hank Donaghue takes lead on the case and sorts through the various and grotesque clues the killer delivers in an attempt to capture him before he kidnaps Karen.

Fans of Law and Order will adore this fast paced suspenseful thriller, The Rainy Day Killer.  McCann creates believable and exceptionally human victims.  The descriptions of the crimes are terrifying and disturbing without being overly grotesque or excessive.  The story line moves quickly and avoids excessive or over the top detail.  This book is part of a series and although you don’t have to have read previous books to enjoy this novel, there are a lot of characters and a lot of details that don’t necessarily relate to just this book.  The sheer number of characters can be overwhelming and some of the names are a little challenging to keep straight.  Some of the characters feel underdeveloped when this novel stands alone versus as part of a series.  The climax of the novel is satisfying, but quick and without embellishment.

Reasons to Read: This is a quick paced, enjoyable read with a strong plot and engrossing story line.

Reasons to Pass: The book is likely better read as part of the series versus as a stand alone novel.    

Category:  Mystery/Suspense

Suggested Rating:  PG-13  The book has graphic accounts of kidnap victims who are sexually assaulted and mutilated, but details are limited to that necessary for the story line.

ISBN: 9780987708786| Plaid Raccoon Press| $3.99 ebook, $19.99 paperback| 290 pages

 Buy Links: 

Amazon  | Barnes & Noble  |  Smashwords | Goodreads

Book Summary:

A man in a business suit offers the protection of his umbrella to an unsuspecting woman, and several days later she turns up dead on a river bank, raped and strangled. The terrifying serial killer known in the press as the Rainy Day Killer is now hunting new victims in the city of Glendale … whenever it rains.Homicide Lieutenant Hank Donaghue leads the investigation as the killer begins to communicate directly to him through phone calls and grisly packages containing body parts of his victims. Assisted by FBI profiler Ed Griffin, Donaghue and Detective Karen Stainer pursue an elusive predator who leaves no physical evidence behind.The timing couldn’t be worse, however, as Karen Stainer’s attention is divided between the investigation and preparations for her upcoming wedding. Distracted and uncertain about her future, Stainer is furious when she learns that the Rainy Day Killer has followed her to Virginia, where the wedding will take place, and that he intends to make her his next victim!

About the Author:

 Michael J. McCann was born and raised in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada. He earned a B.A. (Hons.) in English from Trent University and an M.A. in English from Queen’s University. He has worked as an editor and a project and training consultant and manager with the federal government. He is an author of crime fiction and supernatural thrillers. His Donaghue and Stainer Crime Novel series includes Blood Passage, Marcie’s Murder, The Fregoli Delusion, and The Rainy Day Killer. He is also the author of the supernatural thriller The Ghost Manand is currently working on another supernatural novel.

 

Author Links: 
Website  | Facebook   |   Twitter  | Goodreads | Pinterest

 Giveaway:  ($25 Amazon gift card or PayPal cash)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

All opinions expressed are my own and may differ from your individual experience with the product/book.  

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge